Oral and video accounts recorded by the CVCE

A particular strong point of the project is the large number of interviews recorded by the CVCE with Luxembourg and European figures who share their memories and thoughts concerning Pierre Werner, his achievements and his views on the European integration process. These interviews represent entirely new sources, not only for the CVCE but more broadly for the research community. Their heritage value also means that they will be of interest for other sectors of the public. They are published in full and as selected extracts.

The figures that have been interviewed thus far are as follows (in alphabetical order):

  • Michel Camdessus, Honorary Governor of the Bank de France,  former Managing Director of the International Monetary Fund
  • Étienne Davignon, former Member of the Commission of the European Communities with special responsibility for the Internal Market, Industrial Affairs and the Customs Union
  • Mark Eyskens, former Belgian Prime Minister and Minister for Foreign Affairs
  • Luc Frieden, Luxembourg Finance Minister, Founder Member of the Pierre Werner Foundation
  • Albert Hansen, Member of the Council of State, former Secretary-General of the Government, former Head of Cabinet of HRH the Grand Duke
  • Edmond Israel (†), Honorary Chairman of Clearstream International
  • Jean-Claude Juncker, President of the European Commission (since 2014), Prime Minister of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg (1995–2013), first permanent President of the Eurogroup (2005–2013)
  • Jean-Jacques Kasel, Member of the Court of Justice of the European Union, former Ambassador
  • Astrid Lulling, former Member of the Luxembourg and European Parliament

  • Philippe Maystadt, Minister of State of Belgium, former President of the European Investment Bank
  • Yves Mersch, former President of the Banque centrale du Luxembourg, Member of the Executive Board of the European Central Bank
  • Jean Mischo, former Advocate General at the Court of Justice of the European Communities
  • Guy de Muyser, former Marshal of the Grand Ducal Court, former Ambassador
  • Charles-Ferdinand Nothomb, Minister of State of Belgium, President of the European Circle entitled ‘Perspectives et réalités frontalières' (the ‘Cercle Pierre Werner')
  • Viviane Reding, Member of the European Parliament, former European Commissioner, Vice-President of the European Commission  with responsibility for Justice, Fundamental Rights and Citizenship
  • Lex Roth, former Director of the Information and Press Service of the Luxembourg Government
  • Fabrizio Saccomanni, Professor of Economics at the London School of Economics, former Italian Minister for Economic Affairs and Finance, Honorary Managing Director of the Bank of Italy
  • Jacques Santer, Honorary Minister of State, former President of the European Commission, Founder Member of the Pierre Werner Foundation
  • Bernard Snoy et d’Oppuers, President of the European League for Economic Cooperation and President of Robert Triffin International
  • René Steichen, Chairman of the Board of Directors of SES ASTRA (the Société européenne des satellites)
  • Niels Thygesen, Emeritus Professor at the University of Copenhagen, former member of the Delors Committee, Chairman of the European Fiscal Board
  • Hans Tietmeyer, former President of the Bundesbank, former alternate member of the Werner Committee


All those who have agreed to be involved in this Oral History exercise conducted by the CVCE have made a valuable contribution to the ‘Pierre Werner and Europe' research project. We extend our sincere appreciation to them.