The three pillars of the European Union (Maastricht, 7 February 1992)

The Treaty signed on 7 February 1992 in Maastricht lays the foundations for a new European structure. It establishes a ‘European Union' that brings together not only the three European Communities, but also two areas of political cooperation between Member States (CFSP and JHA). The aim is to allow these three elements to develop within a unified framework. This new structure is generally represented in the form of a Greek temple made of three pillars: the Community pillar, which has a supranational character, and the second and third pillars, which have an intergovernmental character.

Source and copyright

Source: CVCE.

Copyright: (c) Centre Virtuel de la Connaissance sur l'Europe (CVCE)
Tous droits de reproduction, de communication au public, d'adaptation, de distribution ou de rediffusion, via Internet, un réseau interne ou tout autre moyen, strictement réservés pour tous pays. Consultez l'avertissement juridique et les conditions d'utilisation du site.

This document is also available in…