Entry into force of the North Atlantic Treaty (24 August 1949)

On 24 August 1949, in Washington, the US President, Harry S. Truman, signs the Convention implementing the North Atlantic Treaty. Behind him, from left to right: Sir Frederick Hoyer Millar (United Kingdom), Henrik de Kauffmann (Denmark), W. D. Matthews (Canada), Louis Johnson, (US Defence Secretary), Wilhelm Munthe de Morgenstierne (Norway), Henri Bonnet (France), Pedro Theotonio Pereira (Portugal), Dean Acheson, (US Secretary of State), O. Reuchlin (Netherlands) and Mario Lucielli (Italy).

Source and copyright

Source: Harry S. Truman Library (NLT), Independence, MO, U.S. Highway 24 & Delaware Street. AVC. PHT. (73)3193. ARC Id. 200 163.
Photograph of President Truman signing the document implementing the North Atlantic Treaty at his desk in the Oval Office, as a number of dignitaries look on. Abbie Rowe. Washington: National Park Service, 24/08/1949. Black and White.

Copyright: (c) NARA
All rights of reproduction, public communication, adaptation, distribution or dissemination via Internet, internal network or any other means are strictly reserved in all countries. The documents available on this Web site are the exclusive property of their authors or right holders. Requests for authorisation are to be addressed to the authors or right holders concerned. Further information may be obtained by referring to the legal notice and the terms and conditions of use regarding this site.

This document is also available in…

Entry into force of the North Atlantic Treaty (24 August 1949)