– Born on 24 April 1947 in La Pobla de Segur (Lleida, Spain)

– Nationality: Spanish

– Graduated in aeronautical engineering from the Technical University of Madrid and completed a PhD in Economic Sciences at the Complutense University of Madrid

– Engineer at the Spanish petroleum company CEPSA (1975–1982)

– Member of the Madrid Regional Government for the Spanish Socialist Workers’ Party (PSOE) (1979–1983)

– Secretary-General with responsibility for the budget in the Ministry of the Economy (1982–1984)

– State Secretary for Finance (1984–1991)

– Minister for Public Works and Transport (1991–1996)

– Professor of Economic Analysis and Mathematics at the Complutense University of Madrid (1982–2012)

– Member of the Spanish Parliament for the Socialists’ Party of Catalonia (PSC) (1996–2004) and Chairman of the Spanish Cortes Joint Committee for European Union Affairs (1999–2004)

– Member of the Convention on the Future of Europe (2002–2003)

– Member of the European Parliament for the Party of European Socialists (PES) (2004–2009), President of the European Parliament (2004–2007)

– President of the European University Institute, Florence (2010–2012)

– Member of the Board of Directors of Abengoa, S.A. (since 2009) and Chairman of the Global Progressive Forum (2007–2011)

– Holder of a Jean Monnet Chair at the Complutense University of Madrid (since 2013)

Im PDF-Format einsehen