About us

Digital Research in European Studies

The CVCE’s integration into the University of Luxembourg follows the decision taken by the Government Council on 5 June 2015 to reorganise the country’s research landscape in the field of humanities, particularly by setting up an Institute for Contemporary History (known as the Institut d’histoire du temps présent), which will become an interdisciplinary centre within the University. The CVCE’s researchers will particularly contribute their expertise to the activities of the new centre, which will mainly focus on contemporary Luxembourg history, European integration and digital history.

Since the CVCE was set up, it has successfully risen to the challenge of developing an innovative approach to European integration studies. By combining digital technologies with research in social sciences and humanities, the CVCE has created the first digital research infrastructure on European integration (www.cvce.eu), which has gained a strong international following, with two million documents consulted each year. Its collections of thematic publications and its oral history programme — which includes nearly 100 interviews with eminent European figures — represent an innovative approach to European integration. A series of digital tools also give researchers the option of customising the published resources. Through its activities, the CVCE has developed an extensive network of partners and has regularly contributed to competitive projects. This is why the University will continue to guarantee the sustainability and accessibility of the research infrastructure.

A dedicated strategy has been introduced to facilitate the integration process. A temporary unit entitled Digital European Integration Studies (DEIS), established as a research infrastructure, has been set up at the University to ensure the continuity of the CVCE's research projects and the development of its infrastructure.

À propos

Digital Research in European Studies

L’intégration du CVCE à l’Université du Luxembourg fait suite à la décision du Gouvernement, réuni en conseil le 5 juin 2015, de réorganiser le paysage de la recherche en sciences humaines notamment par la création d’un Institut d’histoire du temps présent qui aura le statut de centre interdisciplinaire au sein de l’Université. Les compétences des chercheurs du CVCE vont notamment contribuer aux activités de ce nouveau centre qui porteront principalement sur l’histoire contemporaine du Luxembourg, l’intégration européenne ainsi que l’histoire numérique.

Depuis sa création, le CVCE a relevé avec succès le défi d’innover les études européennes. L’association du numérique à la recherche en sciences sociales et humaines a permis de créer la première infrastructure de recherche numérique sur la construction européenne qui connaît une large notoriété internationale avec 2 millions de documents consultés annuellement (www.cvce.eu). Ses collections de publications thématiques et son programme d’histoire orale, comprenant près de 100 interviews de personnalités européennes, constituent une approche innovante de la construction européenne. Une série d’outils numériques donne au-delà aux chercheurs la possibilité de personnaliser les ressources publiées. Par ses activités, le CVCE a également su construire un large réseau de partenaires et a régulièrement contribué à des projets compétitifs. C’est pourquoi l’accès à l’infrastructure et sa pérennité continueront à être assurés dans le cadre de l’Université.

Pour faciliter le processus d’intégration, une démarche structurée et concertée a été mise en place. Une unité organisationnelle temporaire, intitulée Digital Research in European Studies (DEIS) et définie comme infrastructure de recherche, a été créée au sein de l’université afin d’assurer la continuité des projets de recherche et de l’infrastructure du CVCE.