Memorandum from the Benelux countries to the six Member States of the ECSC (18 May 1955)

On 1 June 1955, the first day of the Messina Conference, the representatives of the six Member States of the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC) analyse the joint memorandum, officially forwarded to them on 20 May 1955 by the Belgian, Luxembourg and Netherlands Governments, in which the three Benelux countries call for greater economic integration in Europe, particularly in the areas of transport, energy and the peaceful use of nuclear power.

Source and copyright

Source: Archives historiques du Conseil de l'Union européenne, Bruxelles, Rue de la Loi 175. Négociations des traités instituant la CEE et la CEEA (1955-1957), CM3. Réunion des ministres des affaires étrangères, Messine, 01-03.06.1955, CM3/NEGO/006.

Copyright: (c) Union européenne

This document is also available in…

The PDF content cannot be displayed in the browser. To view the content, please install
Download Content