Group photo of the Paris Summit (19–21 October 1972)

Meeting in Paris from 19 to 21 October 1972, the Heads of State or Government of the Communities, newly enlarged to include nine Member States, affirm their intention to transform, before the end of the present decade, the whole complex of their relations into a European Union. They take decisions concerning Economic and Monetary Union, the Monetary Cooperation Fund and regional policy. From left to right: Pierre Werner (Luxembourg Minister of State and President of the Government), Gaston Eyskens (Belgian Prime Minister), Jack Lynch (Irish Prime Minister), Anker Jorgensen (Danish Prime Minister), Willy Brandt (Chancellor of the Federal Republic of Germany), Barend W. Biesheuvel (Netherlands Prime Minister), Georges Pompidou (President of the French Republic), Edward Heath (British Prime Minister), Giulio Andreotti (Italian Prime Minister) and Sicco Mansholt (President of the Commission of the European Communities).

Source and copyright

Source: Jarnoux, P. Paris: 19.10.1972. Noir et blanc.
Archives familiales Pierre Werner, Luxembourg. 1970-1984, PW 203.

Copyright: (c) P. Jarnoux - Paris Match

This document is also available in…

Group photo of the Paris Summit (19–21 October 1972)