'Initiative and constraint in the mapping of evolving European borders' project

General presentation

Carte de l'Europe sur fond d'empreinte digitale (décembre 1989)

The project ‘Initiative and constraint in the mapping of evolving European borders', funded by the award of a Jean Monnet Action through the Lifelong Learning Programme of the EU's Education, Audiovisual and Culture Executive Agency (EACEA), is devoted to the analysis of voluntarism v. determinism as key factors in border creation and evolution and as parameters in prospective border studies, focusing on the specific case of contemporary Europe. The results of this research project lead to the drafting of policy recommendations to guarantee constructive European neighbourhood relations as well as the establishment of a more thoughtful, integrative and ‘border-sensitive' EU external communication policy. In this sense, the project starts from the premise that an in-depth interdisciplinary critical analysis of the active role of borders in shaping European policy-making is particularly urgent in order to offer tangible and comprehensive solutions to the challenges of past and future enlargements and for the consolidation of a fruitful and proactive external role for the EU in an increasingly interdependent world.

Project objectives

  • Building a quality reference for research and didactic purposes on the subject of ‘Initiative and constraint in the mapping of evolving European borders'. Access to this resource will be facilitated by the digital nature of its development and consultation features. Both the resulting digital research corpus and the subject file will be published in the CVCE website.
  • Helping to shed light on new approaches and lines of research regarding the project theme, thus enhancing the valorisation possibilities for the project research results created by a highly active international network of eminent experts.
  • Assembling unique documents from geographically dispersed archives and revealing their interconnections by comparing and examining them in detail within the thematic WPs and research areas of the project.
  • Bridging research and European policy-making by deepening and disseminating analysis that is sensitive to border issues.
  • Setting up a systematic bibliography of secondary sources regarding the main project themes.

Project Manager: Cristina Blanco Sío-López 

 

For more detailed information on this project, please refer to the project website: http://borders.cvce.eu/

Projet «Initiative and constraint in the mapping of evolving European borders»

Présentation générale

Carte de l'Europe sur fond d'empreinte digitale (décembre 1989)

Le project ‘Initiative and constraint in the mapping of evolving European borders', financé par une Action Jean Monnet à travers le programme de Lifelong Learning de l'Agence exécutive "Education, audiovisuel et culture"(EACEA) de l'Union européenne, est consacré à l'analyse du volontarisme vs. déterminisme comme des facteurs clés dans la création et l'évolution des frontières de l'Europe contemporaine. Les résultats de ce projet de recherche conduisent à l'élaboration de recommandations politiques pour garantir des relations de voisinage constructives en Europe ainsi que la mise en place d'une politique de communication extérieure de l'UE plus inclusive. Le projet part du principe que l'analyse critique interdisciplinaire sur le rôle actif des frontières dans l'élaboration de la politique européenne est particulièrement urgente dans le but d'offrir des solutions concrètes et globales aux défis des élargissements de l'UE. Cette analyse s'avère aussi de grande importance pour la consolidation d'un rôle externe de l'UE fructueux et dynamique dans un monde toujours plus interdépendant.

Les objectifs du projet :

  • Construire une référence de qualité pour la recherche et pour l'enseignement sur le thème du projet. L'accès à cette ressource sera facilitée par la nature numérique de ses fonctions de développement et de consultation. Tant le corpus de recherche numérique qui en résulte et le dossier thématique seront publiés dans le site Web du CVCE.
  • Illustrer des nouvelles approches et des orientations de recherche innovantes en ce qui concerne le thème du projet, en renforçant ainsi les possibilités de valorisation pour les résultats du projet de recherche créées par un réseau très actif d'experts internationaux.
  • Rassembler des documents pertinents et, beaucoup de fois, inédites, d'archives dispersées géographiquement et révéler leurs interconnexions en les comparant et en les examinant en détail dans les WP thématiques depuis la perspective des différentes domaines de recherche du projet.
  • Créer un pont entre la recherche et la politique européenne en approfondissant et en diffusant l'analyse interdisciplinaire en portant une attention particulière aux questions frontalières.
  • Mettre en place une bibliographie systématique de sources secondaires concernant les principaux thèmes du projet.

Chef de projet: Cristina Blanco Sío-López 

 

Site Web du projet: http://borders.cvce.eu/