The three pillars of the European Union (Amsterdam, 2 October 1997)

Diagram showing the three-pillar structure of the European Union as created by the Maastricht Treaty signed on 7 February 1992 and modified by the Treaty of Amsterdam in 1997. The Community pillar, which has a supranational character, includes the three European Communities. The second and third pillars, which have an intergovernmental character, concern respectively the common foreign and security policy (CFSP) and police and judicial cooperation in criminal matters (PJCC).

Source and copyright

Source: CVCE.

Copyright: (c) Centre Virtuel de la Connaissance sur l'Europe (CVCE)
Tous droits de reproduction, de communication au public, d'adaptation, de distribution ou de rediffusion, via Internet, un réseau interne ou tout autre moyen, strictement réservés pour tous pays. Consultez l'avertissement juridique et les conditions d'utilisation du site.

This document is also available in…

To view this page ensure that Adobe Flash Player version 10.0.0 or greater is installed.

Get Adobe Flash Player