The plan for a single currency

Among other plans for European union on a sectoral basis, the creation of a single currency is considered in the early 1950s by France, Belgium, Luxembourg, the United Kingdom and the Netherlands. Participants in these negotiations (from left to right ) are: René Mayer (France), Gaston Eyskens (Belgium), Pierre Dupong (Luxembourg), Sir Stafford Cripps (England) and Pieter Lieftinck (The Netherlands).

Source and copyright

Source: Les grands argentiers du Benelux se réunissent. Bruxelles: Keystone, 1950. Noir et blanc.

Copyright: (c) Keystone
All intellectual property rights for material on this site are reserved. Without express permission all reproduction as well as all use of the material other than for consultation within the domestic and/or private circle or for publication for a strictly scientific purpose is prohibited.

This document is also available in…

The plan for a single currency