Greece and Turkey join NATO (London, 22 October 1951)

On 22 October 1951, in London, the Deputy Permanent Representatives of the North Atlantic Council sign the Protocol to the North Atlantic Treaty on the Accession of Greece and Turkey (who will officially become members on 18 February 1952). From left to right: Tjarda van Starkenborgh-Stachouwer (Netherlands), André De Staerke (Belgium), L. Dana Wilgress (Canada), Hervé Alphand (France), Gunnlaugur Petursson (Iceland), Soren C. Sommerfelt (Norway), M. De Steensen-Leth (Denmark), Alberto Rossi Longhi (Italy), Ruy Ennes Ulrich (Portugal), André Clasen (Luxembourg), Sir Frederick Hoyer Millar (United Kingdom) and Charles M. Spofford (USA).

Source and copyright

Source: La Grèce et la Turquie rentrent dans l'OTAN en 1952. Londres: Keystone, 22/10/1951. Noir et blanc.

Copyright: (c) Keystone
All intellectual property rights for material on this site are reserved. Without express permission all reproduction as well as all use of the material other than for consultation within the domestic and/or private circle or for publication for a strictly scientific purpose is prohibited.

This document is also available in…

Greece and Turkey join NATO (London, 22 October 1951)