## Chronology of the independence of the Belgian, Italian, Portuguese and Spanish colonies in Africa

Copyright: (c) Translation CVCE.EU by UNI.LU

All rights of reproduction, of public communication, of adaptation, of distribution or of dissemination via Internet, internal network or any other means are strictly reserved in all countries. Consult the legal notice and the terms and conditions of use regarding this site.

## URL

http://www.cvce.eu/obj/chronology\_of\_the\_independence\_of\_the\_belgian\_italian\_p ortuguese\_and\_spanish\_colonies\_in\_africa-en-b87b8249-9ffe-4dec-b908-1ab1977a4725.html



**Last updated:** 02/03/2017



## Chronology of the independence of the Belgian, Italian, Portuguese and Spanish colonies in Africa

24.12.1951	Independence of Libya
	Former colonial power: Italy.
30.06.1960	Independence of the Belgian Congo
	Former colonial power: Belgium.
01.07.1960	Independence of Somalia
	Former colonial powers: Italy.
01.07.1962	Independence of Rwanda
	Former colonial power: Belgium.
01.07.1962	Independence of Burundi
	Former colonial power: Belgium.
12.10.1968	Independence of Equatorial Guinea
	Former colonial power: Spain.
10.09.1974	Independence of Guinea-Bissau
	Former colonial power: Portugal.
25.06.1975	Independence of Mozambique
	Former colonial power: Portugal.
05.07.1975	Independence of Cape Verde
	Former colonial power: Portugal.
12.07.1975	Independence of São Tomé and Príncipe
	Former colonial power: Portugal.
11.11.1975	Independence of Angola
	Former colonial power: Portugal.

