## Chronology on the decolonisation of French sub-Saharan Africa

Copyright: (c) Translation CVCE.EU by UNI.LU

All rights of reproduction, of public communication, of adaptation, of distribution or of dissemination via Internet, internal network or any other means are strictly reserved in all countries. Consult the legal notice and the terms and conditions of use regarding this site.

## **URL**:

 $http://www.cvce.eu/obj/chronology\_on\_the\_decolonisation\_of\_french\_sub\_saharan\_africa-en-ecfa26af-e685-4df5-b9e6-o2b6a6od8ee1.html$ 



**Last updated:** 01/03/2017



## **Chronology on the decolonisation of French sub-Saharan Africa**

30 Jan.–8 Feb.1944	Brazzaville Conference The French African Conference, organised by the French Committee of National Liberation and attended by representatives of the French territories in Africa, aims to lay the foundations for future relations between France and its colonies.
27 October 1946	The French Union replaces the Empire Established by the Constitution of the Fourth Republic, the French Union incorporates mainland France, the overseas departments and territories, associated territories (under mandate) and associated states (protectorates).
23 June 1956	Adoption of Defferre's Framework Law Drafted by Gaston Defferre, Minister for Overseas France in Guy Mollet's government, with the support of Félix Houphouët-Boigny, Mayor of Abidjan and first President of Côte d'Ivoire, the law on the future of overseas territories is an important stage in the process of emancipation of the colonial territories in French Africa (it introduces universal suffrage and a joint electorate, establishes government councils, extends the powers of territorial assemblies, reforms the administration, etc.).
1958	The return of General de Gaulle  After General de Gaulle's return to power in 1958, he makes an offer of self- determination to the people of French Africa. He lets them choose between independence via secession or membership of the French Community, a body enshrined in his new draft Constitution. In August 1958, the General embarks on a major tour of Africa to convince people to accept his plan.
28 September 1958	Constitutional referendum  In a referendum held on 28 September 1958, voters are asked to ratify the draft Constitution, which lays the foundations for the French Fifth Republic. In France's colonies, the Constitution provides for the replacement of the French Union by the French Community. Voters in mainland France and the overseas territories vote overwhelmingly in favour of the new Constitution (79.25%). Sékou Touré's Guinea is the only territory to vote against, opting instead for independence.
2 October 1958	Independence of Guinea Guinea rejects the offer of joining the French Community and proclaims its independence. This decision leads to a breakdown in administrative and financial links between Guinea and France.



4 October 1958	Adoption of the Constitution of the Fifth Republic The French Community replaces the French Union.
1 January 1960	Independence of Cameroon (the part under French tutelage)
4 April 1960	Independence of Senegal On 20 June 1960, the Mali Federation, a union between Senegal and French Sudan, becomes independent following the agreement signed with France on 4 April 1960 — officially considered as the date of Senegal's independence. On 20 August, Senegal withdraws from the Federation.
27 April 1960	Independence of Togo
26 June 1960	Independence of Madagascar
1 August 1960	Independence of Dahomey (now Benin)
3 August 1960	Independence of Niger
5 August 1960	Independence of Upper Volta (now Burkina Faso)
7 August 1960	Independence of Côte d'Ivoire
11 August 1960	Independence of Chad
13 August 1960	Independence of Central African Republic
15 August 1960	Independence of Congo (Brazzaville)
17 August 1960	Independence of Gabon
22 September 1960	Independence of French Sudan (now Mali)



28 November 1960	Independence of Mauritania
6 July 1975	Independence of the Comoros
27 June 1977	Independence of Djibouti

