

Results of the Irish referendum on the Amsterdam Treaty (22 May 1998)

Caption: On 22 May 1998, the Irish people vote in favour of the amendment to Article 29(4) of the Constitution authorising the ratification of the Treaty of Amsterdam by 932 632 votes to 578 070.

Source: Department of the Environment, Community and Local Government, Referendum Results, 1937-2012, Dublin, 2012,

http://www.environ.ie/en/LocalGovernment/Voting/Referenda/PublicationsDocuments/FileDownLoad,1894,en.pdf.

Copyright: (c) Copyright Department of the Environment, Community and Local Government

URL: http://www.cvce.eu/obj/results_of_the_irish_referendum_on_the_amsterdam_treaty_22_may_1998-en-75054013-

1/3

224c-4e0b-9345-33fd4450904e.html

Publication date: 18/12/2013

18/12/2013



27. Referendum on the Treaty of Amsterdam (1998)

(Eighteenth Amendment of the Constitution Bill 1998)

Polling at the referendum took place on Friday, 22nd May 1998 between the hours of 8 a.m. and 10 p.m. A referendum on the British-Irish Agreement took place on the same day (see pages 56 and 57). The following prescribed statement for the information of voters on the subject matter of the referendum was included in a leaflet sent to each elector:

'GREEN BALLOT PAPER – TREATY OF AMSTERDAM

THE EIGHTEENTH AMENDMENT OF THE CONSTITUTION BILL, 1998, proposes to insert the following subsections after subsection 4° of section 4 of Article 29 of the Constitution:

- "5° The State may ratify the Treaty of Amsterdam amending the Treaty on European Union, the Treaties establishing the European Communities and certain related Acts signed at Amsterdam on the 2nd day of October, 1997.
- 6° The State may exercise the options or discretions provided by or under Articles 1.11, 2.5 and 2.15 of the Treaty referred to in subsection 5° of this section and the second and fourth Protocols set out in the said Treaty but any such exercise shall be subject to the prior approval of both Houses of the Oireachtas.".'

The total number of votes recorded in favour of the proposal was 932,632 and the total number of votes recorded against the proposal was 578,070. As the proposal was duly approved by the people, the Bill was signed by the President on 3rd June 1998 and promulgated as a law.

The following table contains details of the voting at the referendum in each constituency:

2/3



Referendum on the Eighteenth Amendment of the Constitution Bill 1998 (Treaty of Amsterdam)

Constituency	Electorate*	Total Poll	Percentage Poll	Votes in favour of the proposal	Votes against proposal	Spoilt votes
(1)	(2)	(3)	(4)	(5)	(6)	(7)
Carlow-Kilkenny	86,584	48.622	56.16	30.122	17,181	1,319
Cavan-Monaghan	83,141	50,513	60.76	32,044	17,115	1,354
Clare	71,060	36,603	51.51	22,939	12,709	955
Cork East	63,881	35,344	55.33	19,780	14,725	839
Cork North-Central	72.802	38.832	53.34	20.715	17,326	791
Cork North-West	47,402	27,990	59.05	15,682	11,472	836
Cork South-Central	85,752	49,892	58.18	28,460	20,606	826
Cork South-West	47,988	27,568	57.45	15,632	11,085	851
Donegal North-East	52,188	29,157	55.87	17,843	10,718	596
Donegal South-West	51,097	27,908	54.62	16,492	10,697	719
Dublin Central	63,483	33,533	52.82	18,744	14,186	603
Dublin North	65,312	39,603	60.64	24.912	14,159	532
Dublin North-Central	65,737	42,773	65.07	24,832	17,239	702
Dublin North-East	59,398	36,503	61.45	21,523	14,539	441
Dublin North-West	59,332	35,109	59.17	19,905	14,705	499
Dublin South	90,536	57,363	63.36	36,281	20,227	855
Dublin South-Central	66,994	39,795	59.40	22,349	16,782	664
Dublin South-East	62,663	37,310	59.54	22,298	14,376	636
Dublin South-West	76,748	40,106	52.26	22,604	16,959	543
Dublin West	68,773	38,567	56.08	22,495	15,571	501
Dun Laoghaire	86,311	53,652	62.16	34,530	18,268	854
Galway East	61,703	32,546	52.75	21,590	10,070	886
Galway West	79,180	38,730	48.91	23,470	14,285	975
Kerry North	51,641	26,197	50.73	14.126	11,394	677
Kerry South	47,677	25,427	53.33	14,410	10,232	785
Kildare North	54,104	29,406	54.35	18,479	10,485	442
Kildare South	47,904	24,564	54.33 51.28	15,644	8,442	478
Laoighis-Offaly	84,530	46,585	55.11	27,839	17,690	1,056
Limerick East	77,884	42,286	54.29	26,241	15,113	932
Limerick Last	48,454	25,420	52.46	15,287	9,348	785
Longford-Roscommon	63,968	35,896	56.12	23,255	11,600	1,041
Longiora-Roscommon	72,116	43,643	60.52	28,137	14,724	782
Mayo	72,116 86.785	45,643 45.244	52.13	28,621	15.284	1,339
Meath	92,053	49,811	52.13 54.11	31,660	17,189	962
Sligo-Leitrim	92,053 64,538	36,815	54.11 57.04	23,487	12,290	1,038
Tipperary North	53,368	30,615	57.04 57.36	23,487 18,137	12,290	1,038 825
Tipperary North	53,368	,	57.36 57.91	18,137	10,764	825 785
Waterford	69,793	29,789 37,865	57.91 54.25	23,002	14,005	858
Westmeath	,	26,392	54.25 54.65	16,310	9,385	697
westmeath Wexford	48,289	,		,		
	84,228	44,293 45,667	52.59	27,860	15,326	1,107
Wicklow	80,252	45,667	56.90	26,655	18,150	862
TOTAL	2,747,088	1,543,930	56.20	932,632	578,070	33,228

^{*}The figures for the electorate are based on the register of electors for 1998/99 which came into force on 15th February 1998. The figures do not include persons added to the register by way of the supplement to the register.

3/3