## Political groups of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (1956-2012)

**Caption:** Table showing the political groups of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe in their historical context.

Source: CVCE.

Copyright: (c) CVCE.EU by UNI.LU

All rights of reproduction, of public communication, of adaptation, of distribution or of dissemination via Internet, internal network or any other means are strictly reserved in all countries. Consult the legal notice and the terms and conditions of use regarding this site.

## **URL:**

 $http://www.cvce.eu/obj/political\_groups\_of\_the\_parliamentary\_assembly\_of\_the\_council\_of\_europe\_1956\_2012-en-7d4f9f45-8be3-4b38-95e4-8955ab3c8fae.html$ 



**Last updated:** 07/07/2016



## Political groups\* of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe

Official name	Acronym	Previous name	Original name	Date of foundation	Date of dissolution
Group of the European People's Party	EPP/CD		Christian Democrat Group	1956 (1)	
Socialist Group	SOC		Socialist Group	1956 (1)	
Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe (5)	ALDE	Liberal, Democratic and Reformers' Group (LDR)	Liberal Group	1956 (1)	
European Democrat Group (3)	EDG		Group of Independent Representatives	1958 (2)	
Group of the Unified European Left	UEL		Communist Group	1977	
			Joint Group of Democrats	1977 (4)	1983
(Representatives not belonging to a political group of the Assembly)	NR		(Representatives not belonging to a political group of the Assembly)		

<sup>\*</sup> In April 1956 the Assembly recognised political groups for the first time, when it formally gave the Bureau and the Secretariat responsibility for taking the requisite steps to ensure their normal operation during its sessions. In January 1964 the Assembly officially acknowledged the existence of political groups in Article 41 of its Rules of Procedure.

- (1) Groupes formés sous la présidence de Guy Mollet (1954 1956), comprenant notamment des parlementaires des Six.
- (2) Unofficial meetings between a number of members of conservative and other right-wing parties, mainly from the United Kingdom, Ireland and Scandinavia.
- (3) Renamed in September 1980.
- (4) Group formed after the accession of Spain and Portugal, notably including French (RPR), Portuguese (Social-Democrats) and Spanish (UCD) parliamentarians .
- (5) Renamed in June 2005.

