## The bodies of the Council of Europe

Source: CVCE.

Copyright: (c) CVCE.EU by UNI.LU

All rights of reproduction, of public communication, of adaptation, of distribution or of dissemination via Internet, internal network or any other means are strictly reserved in all countries. Consult the legal notice and the terms and conditions of use regarding this site.

**URL:** http://www.cvce.eu/obj/the\_bodies\_of\_the\_council\_of\_europe-en-bo593d8a-1ab8-429c-877f-4711fa762444.html

**Last updated:** 07/07/2016





## The bodies of the Council of Europe

From the outset, the Council of Europe had three statutory bodies: the Committee of Ministers and the Consultative Assembly, both political bodies, were assisted by the Secretariat, a purely administrative body. The structure and the powers and responsibilities of the Council of Europe are the result of a compromise between those who favoured a federalist model of European integration and the unionists, who, seeking not to interfere with state sovereignty, preferred no more than intergovernmental cooperation.

