Presidencies of the WU and WEU Council (1948–2012)

Caption: List of the Presidencies of the Council of Western Union (WU) and the Council of Western European Union (WEU).

Source: Presidencies of WEU Council. [s.l.]: Secretariat-General of the Western European Union, [s.d.].

Copyright: (c) WEU Secretariat General - Secrétariat Général UEO

 $\label{eq:url:http://www.cvce.eu/obj/presidencies_of_the_wu_and_weu_council_1948_2012-en-06f6a972-f6b6-4a09-bf95-f0ae9695e30c.html$

Last updated: 25/10/2016





PRESIDENCIES OF WEU COUNCIL

Period

Chairmanship/Presidency

Note

Brussels Treaty Organization (B.T.O.)

On 17/04/1948 during the 1st meeting of the Brussels Treaty Permanent Commision, representatives agreed that Chairmanship rotate every three months, following alphabetical order, beginning with the U.K. Chairmanship was handed over during meetings until March 1950.In the same period, the Chairmanship of meetings of the Consultative Council of the Brussels Treaty (Ministerial Level) was decided on a case- by-case basis by Ministers.

		Meetings	s of Consultative Council (M	linisterial Level) of BTO.
17/04/1948 to 28/07/1948	U.K.	1st -	17/04/1948	France
29/07/1948 to 03/11/1948	Belgium	2nd -	19/07/1948	Netherlands
04/11/1948 to 08/2/1949	France	3rd -	25-26/10/1948	France
09/02/1949 to 12/05/1949	Luxembourg	4th -	27-28/01/1949	U.K.
13/05/1949 to 04/08/1949	Netherlands	5th -	14-15/03/1949	U.K.
05/08/49 to 13/10/49	Luxembourg	6th -	17-18/06/1949	Luxembourg
14/10/1949 to 01/12/1949	U.K.	7th -	07/11/1949	France
02/12/1949 to 24/03/1950	Belgium	8th -	16-17/04/1950	Belgium
May - July 1950	France	9th -	01/08/1950	Netherlands
Aug - Oct 1950	Netherlands	10th -	20/12/1950	Belgium
Nov - Jan 1951	Luxembourg	11th -	13/11/1951	France
Feb - Apr 1951	U.K.	12th -	15/12/1952	France
May - Aug 1951	Belgium	13th -	13/12/1953	Netherlands
Sept - Nov 1951	France	14th -	22/04/1954	Luxembourg
Dec - July 1952	Luxembourg			
Aug - Oct 1952	Belgium			

On 2nd October 1952 (158th meeting of the P.C) it was agreed that the Chairmanship of the P.C. should change every six months. The Netherlands began the first 6-month Charimanship in Nov 1952.

Nov 1952 to May 1953 Jun to Nov 1953 Dec 1953 to Jun 1954 Netherlands U.K. Belgium



On 09/11/1954 (180th meeting) the P.C. decided that when the French Delegation's term of office ended, the Chairmanship should pass to the Luxembourg Delegation, thus taking their turn under the established system with other Delegations following in alphabetical order. It was further decided to return to the system of a three-monthly chairmanship period.

Interim Commission Period

IV - 1954	France
l - 1955	Luxembourg
ll -1955	U.K.

Western European Union (W.E.U.)

On 11/05/55 it was agreed by Ministers that the existing system (three months) would remain in force for Ministerial Meetings and that the Secretary-General would preside at meetings of the Permanent Council of Deputies.

III - 1955	Polaium
	Belgium
IV - 1955	France
l - 1956	Germany
II -1956	Italy
III - 1956	Luxembourg
IV - 1956	Netherlands
l - 1957	U.K.
ll - 1957	Belgium
III - 1957	France
IV - 1957	Germany
l - 1958	Italy
ll - 1958	Luxembourg
III - 1958	Netherlands
IV - 1958	U.K.
l - 1959	Belgium
ll - 1959	France
III - 1959	Germany
IV - 1959	Italy
l - 1960	Luxembourg
II - 1960	Netherlands
III - 1960	U.K.
IV - 1960	Belgium



- 1961 - 1961 - 1961 V - 1961 - 1962 - 1962 - 1962 V - 1962 V - 1963 - 1963 - 1963 V - 1964 - 1964 - 1964 - 1965 - 1965 - 1965	France Germany Italy Luxembourg Netherlands U.K. Belgium France Germany Italy Luxembourg Netherlands U.K. Belgium France Germany Italy Luxembourg	
III - 1965 IV - 1965	Netherlands Netherlands	Chairmanship extended until meeting on 4/11/1965
I - 1966	U.K.	Chairmanship extended until meeting on 4/11/1903
II - 1966	Belgium	
III - 1966	France	
IV - 1966	Germany	
l - 1967 II - 1967	Italy Luxembourg	Chairmanship extended until meeting on 5/4/1967
III - 1967	Netherlands	
IV - 1967	U.K.	
I - 1968	Belgium	
II - 1968	France	
III - 1968	Germany	
IV - 1968	Italy	
l - 1969	Luxembourg	
II - 1969	Netherlands	
III - 1969	U.K.	
IV - 1969	Belgium	Chairmanship extended until meeting on 10/01/1970
l - 1970	Belgium	France absent from Council



ll - 1970	Germany
III - 1970	Italy
IV - 1970	Luxembourg
l - 1971	Netherlands
ll - 1971	U.K.
III - 1971	Belgium
IV - 1971	France
l - 1972	Germany

Chairmanship extended until meeting on 11/01/1971 Chairmanship extended until meeting on 19/04/1971 Chairmanship extended until meeting on 01/07/1971

In July 1972 an ad hoc arrangement was made whereby the Chairmanship was passed on immediately following a ministerial meeting.
(see CR(73)2)

01/04/1972 to 12/09/1972	Italy
13/09/1972 to 15/02/1973	Luxembourg
16/02/1973 to 11/03/1974	Netherlands
12/03/1974 to 20/05/1975	U.K.
21/05/1975 to 31/05/1976	Belgium
01/06/1976 to 26/04/1977	France
27/04/1977 to 05/06/1978	Germany
06/06/1978 to 16/05/1979	Italy
17/05/1979 to 14/05/1980	Luxembourg
15/05/1980 to 03/06/1981	Netherlands
04/06/1981 to 19/05/1982	U.K.
20/05/1982 to 17/05/1983	Belgium
18/05/1983 to 12/06/1984	France
13/06/1984 to 30/06/1985	Germany

At a Ministerial Meeting in Rome 27-28/10/1984, Ministers decided that the Presidency of the Council would be held by each member state for a one year term, expiring on 1st July of each year.

01/07/1985 to 30/06/1986	Italy
01/07/1986 to 30/06/1987	Luxembourg
01/07/1987 to 30/06/1988	Netherlands
01/07/1988 to 30/06/1989	U.K.
01/07/1989 to 30/06/1990	Belgium
01/07/1990 to 30/06/1991	France
01/07/1991 to 30/06/1992	Germany



01/07/1992 to 30/06/1993	Italy
01/07/1993 to 30/06/1993	Luxembourg

	isters agreed to reduce the period of the Presidency to six months with effe	
II - 1994	Netherlands	
l -1995	Portugal	
ll - 1995	Spain	
l - 1996	U.K.	
II - 1996	Belgium	
l - 1997	France	
ll - 1997	Germany	
l - 1998	Greece	
II - 1998	Italy	
On 18/11/1997 N	linisters agreed the harmonization of WEU and EU Presidencies with effect	from 01/01/1999
l - 1999	Germany	
ll - 1999	Luxembourg	
I - 2000	Portugal	
II - 2000	France	
I - 2001	Netherlands	
II - 2001	Belgium	
I - 2002	Spain	
II - 2002	Portugal	
I - 2003	Greece	
II - 2003	Italy	
l - 2004	Spain	
II - 2004	Netherlands	
l - 2005	Luxembourg	
II - 2005	U.K.	
l - 2006	U.K.	
II - 2006	Belgium	
l - 2007	Germany	
II - 2007	Portugal	
l - 2008	France	
l - 2008 II - 2008	France	



l - 2009	Germany
II - 2009	Greece
l - 2010	Spain
II - 2010	Belgium
l - 2011	Italy
II - 2011	Luxembourg
l - 2012	Netherlands
II - 2012	Portugal



