The composition of the European Parliament

Source: CVCE. European NAvigator. Cédric Sangaletti.

Copyright: (c) CVCE.EU by UNI.LU

All rights of reproduction, of public communication, of adaptation, of distribution or of dissemination via Internet, internal network or any other means are strictly reserved in all countries.

Consult the legal notice and the terms and conditions of use regarding this site.

URL: http://www.cvce.eu/obj/the_composition_of_the_european_parliament-en-

d4b7342a-1be8-479b-87c6-2a06a0d47400.html

Last updated: 08/07/2016





Composition

The composition of the European Parliament and the arrangements for appointing its members are governed by the treaties (Articles 14 TEU and 223 TFEU) and by the Act of 20 September 1976 concerning the election of the Members of the European Parliament by direct universal suffrage, ¹ as amended most recently by the Council Decision of 25 June and 23 September 2002. ² The allocation of seats by Member State for the eighth parliamentary term (2014–2019) is laid down in the European Council Decision of 28 June 2013. ³



OJ L 278 of 8 October 1976, p. 5.

Council Decision (2002/772/EC) of 25 June and 23 September 2002 amending the Act concerning the election of the representatives of the European Parliament by direct universal suffrage, annexed to Decision 76/787/ECSC, EEC, Euratom. OJ L 283 of 21 October 2002, p. 1.

European Council Decision (2013/312/EU) establishing the composition of the European Parliament. OJ L 181 of 29 June 2013, p. 57.