

# Agreement on amendment of and accession to the Central European Free Trade Agreement (Bucharest, 19 December 2006)

**Caption:** On 19 December 2006, in Bucharest, nine countries in south-east Europe and the United Nations Interim Administration Mission in Kosovo sign the agreement on the amendment of and accession to the Central European Free Trade Agreement (CEFTA).

Source: Speech by Erhardt Busek at the signing of the agreemend to amend and enlarge the CEFTA. [ON-LINE].

[Bucharest]: Stability Pact for South Eastern Europe, [27.03.2008]. Disponible sur

http://www.stabilitypact.org/pages/speeches/detail.asp?y=2006&p=470.

**Copyright:** All rights of reproduction, public communication, adaptation, distribution or dissemination via Internet, internal network or any other means are strictly reserved in all countries.

The documents available on this Web site are the exclusive property of their authors or right holders.

Requests for authorisation are to be addressed to the authors or right holders concerned.

Further information may be obtained by referring to the legal notice and the terms and conditions of use regarding this site.

#### **URL:**

http://www.cvce.eu/obj/agreement\_on\_amendment\_of\_and\_accession\_to\_the\_central\_european\_free\_trade\_agreement\_bucharest\_19\_december\_2006-en-811a5688-db65-4b61-acbe-f076838e28a9.html

1/4

**Last updated:** 03/07/2015

03/07/2015



Agreement on amendment of and accession to the Central European Free Trade Agreement (Bucharest, 19 December 2006)

Preamble.....

2/4

03/07/2015



#### **Preamble**

The Republic of Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, the Republic of Bulgaria, the Republic of Croatia, the Republic of Macedonia, the Republic of Moldova, the Republic of Montenegro, Romania, the Republic of Serbia and the United Nations Interim Administration Mission in Kosovo on behalf of Kosovo in accordance with United Nations Security Council Resolution 1244 (hereinafter referred to as "the Parties"),

Having regard to the aim of eligible Parties to accede to the European Union;

Recognizing the contribution of the Central European Free Trade Agreement (hereinafter referred to as "CEFTA") to improve the readiness of Parties for membership in the European Union as witnessed by the accession on 1 May 2004 of the Czech Republic, the Republic of Hungary, the Republic of Poland, Slovak Republic and the Republic of Slovenia and the forthcoming accession of the Republic of Bulgaria and Romania;

Convinced of the necessity to amend CEFTA, in order to contribute to the process of integration in Europe through the opening of CEFTA to all Parties ready to observe the provisions of this Agreement;

Having in mind the Declaration of Prime Ministers of CEFTA, done on 29 November 2005 in Zagreb;

Having in mind the Declaration of Prime Ministers of the Parties, done on 6 April 2006 in Bucharest, have agreed as follows:

## **Article 1**

#### Accession

The Republic of Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, the Republic of Moldova, the Republic of Montenegro, the Republic of Serbia and the United Nations Interim Administration Mission in Kosovo on behalf of Kosovo in accordance with United Nations Security Council Resolution 1244 hereby accede to the Central European Free Trade Agreement as amended in Article 3 of this Agreement and shall apply it in accordance with the provisions of this Agreement.

## Article 2

#### The Parties

References in the Central European Free Trade Agreement, as amended in Article 3 of this Agreement, to its Parties shall be understood to include the Parties to this Agreement.

## Article 3

## **Amendment of CEFTA**

The Central European Free Trade Agreement, done at Kraków on 21 December 1992, and amended by the Agreement Amending the Central European Free Trade Agreement, done at Brno on 11 September 1995 and the Agreement Amending the Central European Free Trade Agreement, done at Bled on 4 July 2003, is hereby amended. The consolidated version of the text of the Central European Free Trade Agreement, as amended, (hereinafter referred to as "CEFTA 2006") is attached as Annex 1 to this Agreement.

3 / 4 03/07/2015



## Article 4 Entry into Force

- 1. This Agreement is subject to ratification, acceptance or approval in accordance with requirements foreseen by domestic legislation. The instruments of ratification, acceptance or approval shall be deposited with the Depositary.
- 2. This Agreement shall enter into force on 1 May 2007, provided that all Parties except the Republic of Bulgaria and Romania have deposited their instruments of ratification, acceptance or approval with the Depositary by 31 March 2007.
- 3. If the Agreement has not entered into force for all Parties in accordance with paragraph 2 of this Article, it shall enter into force on the thirtieth day after the deposit of the fifth instrument of ratification, acceptance or approval.
- 4. For each Party depositing its instrument of ratification, acceptance or approval after the date of the deposit of the fifth instrument of ratification, acceptance or approval, the Agreement shall enter into force on the thirtieth day after the day on which it deposits its instrument of ratification, acceptance or approval.
- 5. The bilateral agreements listed in Annex 2 shall be terminated on the date of entry into force of the present Agreement for the Parties concerned.
- 6. Parties referred to in paragraph 4 shall maintain all preferences provided by their respective bilateral free trade agreements until the present Agreement enters into force for each.
- 7. If its constitutional requirements permit, any Party may apply this Agreement provisionally. Provisional application of this Agreement under this paragraph shall be notified to the Depositary.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF the undersigned plenipotentiaries, being duly authorised thereto, have signed this Agreement.

Done at Bucharest this nineteenth day of December 2006 in a single authentic copy in the English language, which shall be deposited with the Depositary of the Central European Free Trade Agreement, which shall transmit certified copies to all Parties.

For the Republic of Albania

For the Republic of Moldova

For Bosnia and Herzegovina

For the Republic of Montenegro

For the Republic of Bulgaria

For Romania

For the Republic of Croatia

For the Republic of Serbia

For the Republic of Macedonia

For the United Nations Interim Administration Mission in Kosovo on behalf of Kosovo in accordance with United Nations Security Council Resolution 1244

4/4

03/07/2015