

Declaration on cooperation of the Visegrad Group countries after their accession to the EU (12 May 2004)

Caption: On 12 May 2004, Vladimír Špidla, Czech Prime Minister, Péter Medgyessy, Hungarian Prime Minister, Marek Belka, Polish Prime Minister, and Mikuláš Dzurinda, Slovak Prime Minister, issue a joint declaration on the cooperation objectives of the Visegrad countries following the accession of their countries to the European Union on 1 May.

Source: Declaration of Prime Ministers of the Czech Republic, the Republic of Hungary, the Republic of Poland and the Slovak Republic on cooperation of the Visegrád Group countries after their accession to the European Union. [ON-

LINE]. [s.l.]: Visegrad Group, [20.07.2005]. Available on

http://www.visegradgroup.org/main.asp? MainObIID=15741&ObIID=15741&ClaID=32268.

Copyright: All rights of reproduction, public communication, adaptation, distribution or dissemination via Internet, internal network or any other means are strictly reserved in all countries.

The documents available on this Web site are the exclusive property of their authors or right holders.

Requests for authorisation are to be addressed to the authors or right holders concerned.

Further information may be obtained by referring to the legal notice and the terms and conditions of use regarding this site.

URL:

 $http://www.cvce.eu/obj/declaration_on_cooperation_of_the_visegrad_group_countries_after_their_accession_to_the_eu_12_may_2004-en-7063cfbd-9788-4468-98f2-6742787a17ef.html$

1/2

Last updated: 03/07/2015

03/07/2015



Declaration of Prime Ministers of the Czech Republic, the Republic of Hungary, the Republic of Poland and the Slovak Republic on cooperation of the Visegrád Group countries after their accession to the European Union (12 May 2004)

The Prime Ministers of the Czech Republic, the Republic of Hungary, the Republic of Poland and the Slovak Republic, assembled on 12 May 2004 in Kroměříž, state with full satisfaction that the key objectives set in the 1991 Visegrád Declaration have been achieved and declare their determination to continue developing the cooperation of the Visegrád Group countries as Member States of the European Union and NATO.

The Visegrád Group countries regard their accession to the European Union and NATO as a significant step towards the reunification of Europe and as a historic milestone on the path of their democratic transformation, integration efforts and mutual cooperation. The integration of the Visegrád Group countries into the European and Euro-Atlantic structures opens up new opportunities and poses new challenges for their further cooperation on the issues of common interest.

The cooperation of the Visegrád Group countries will continue to focus on regional activities and initiatives aimed at strengthening the identity of the Central European region. In this context, their cooperation will be based on concrete projects and will maintain its flexible and open character.

The Visegrád Group countries are strongly determined to jointly contributing to the fulfilment of the European Union's common goals and objectives and to the successful continuation of the European integration. They reiterate their commitment to the enlargement process of the European Union. They are ready to assist countries aspiring for EU membership by sharing and transmitting their knowledge and experience. The Visegrád Group countries are also ready to use their unique regional and historical experience and to contribute to shaping and implementing the European Union's policies towards the countries of Eastern and Southeastern Europe.

The Visegrád Group countries are committed to closely cooperating with their nearest partners in the Central European region. They are also ready to cooperate in specific areas of common interest with countries within the wider region, with other regional groupings in Europe as well as with third countries and international organizations.

The Prime Ministers of the Visegrád Group countries express their deep conviction that further cooperation between their countries, rooted in centuries of interlinked history and based on similar political, economic and social developments in the past decades, will enrich the community of European nations and contribute to the building of a reunited, democratic and prosperous Europe.

2/2

- H.E. Mr. Vladimír Špidla, Prime Minister of the Czech Republic
- H.E. Mr. Péter Medgyessy, Prime Minister of the Republic of Hungary
- H.E. Mr. Marek Belka, Prime Minister of the Republic of Poland
- H.E. Mr. Mikuláš Dzurinda, Prime Minister of the Slovak Republic

03/07/2015