${\tt EFTA}$ Member States: Chronology of free-trade and accession agreements with the ${\tt EC/EU}$

Caption: Chronological table on Member States of the European Free-Trade Association (EFTA) showing the date of their accession or withdrawal from the organisation, as well as the date of the free-trade agreements concluded between them and the European Economic Community (EEC) [to become the European Community (EC) after the Treaty on European Union came into force on 1 November 1993].

Source: CVCE.

Copyright: (c) CVCE.EU by UNI.LU

All rights of reproduction, of public communication, of adaptation, of distribution or of dissemination via Internet, internal network or any other means are strictly reserved in all countries. Consult the legal notice and the terms and conditions of use regarding this site.

URL:

http://www.cvce.eu/obj/efta_member_states_chronology_of_free_trade_and_accession_agreements_with_the_ec_eu-en-5daf365f-aa88-4f5b-a2ef-foa2bae8a7b8.html



Last updated: 08/07/2016



EFTA Member States: Chronology of free-trade and accession agreements with the EC/EU

	EFTA Member States	Accession to the EC/EU (withdrawal from EFTA)		Miscellaneous
	Stockholm Convention of 4 January 1960 establishing EFTA, coming into force on 3 May 1960: Founding States: Denmark, Austria, Norway, Portugal, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom (7 members)			EFTA Convention also applicable to Liechtenstein, pursuant to customs union between Switzerland and Liechtenstein
1961	Finland (associate member)			
	Accession of Iceland (7 + 1 = 8 members)			
1972			Bilateral free-trade agreements EEC + 5 EFTA States (Austria, Switzerland, Portugal, Sweden, Iceland)	
1973	(8 - 2 = 6 members)	Denmark, United Kingdom	- Bilateral free-trade agreements EEC + 2 EFTA States (Norway, Finland) - Entry into force of bilateral EEC free-trade agreements with Austria, Switzerland, Portugal, Sweden (January), Iceland (April), Norway (July), Finland (October)*	
1977			EEC-EFTA free-trade zone for industrial products (free movement of goods from 1 July)	
1986	Accession of Finland (6 + 1 - 1= 6 members)	Portugal		
	Accession of Liechtenstein (6 + 1 = 7 members)			



1992			Oporto Agreement on the	Referendum in
			EEA of 2 May 1992	Switzerland against
			between EEC Member	ratification of the
			States (12) + 5 EFTA	Agreement on the EEA
			States (7 - Switzerland	results in the withdrawal
			and Liechtenstein)	of Liechtenstein, bound
			coming into force on 1	to Switzerland by a
			January 1994	customs union
				(December)
1995	(7 - 3 = 4 members:	Austria, Finland, Sweden	EEA comprises EC	Liechtenstein ratifies its
	Iceland, Liechtenstein,		States (15) + 3 EFTA	accession to the EEA in a
	Norway, Switzerland)		States (Norway, Iceland,	referendum (April) and
			Liechtenstein)	joins the EEA (May)
2004			EEA comprises EC	
			States (25) + 3 EFTA	
			States (Norway, Iceland,	
			Liechtenstein)	
2007			EEA comprises EC	
			States (27) + 3 EFTA	
			States (Norway, Iceland,	
			Liechtenstein)	

^{*7} other bilateral free-trade agreements were signed between the ECSC and the EFTA States; those with Austria, Switzerland, Portugal and Sweden came into force in January 1974.

