## The Luxembourg Presidencies of the Council

**Caption:** List of the Luxembourg Presidencies of the Council from a historical point of view (EEC Council, Council of the European Communities and Council of the European Union).

Source: CVCE.

Copyright: (c) CVCE.EU by UNI.LU

All rights of reproduction, of public communication, of adaptation, of distribution or of dissemination via Internet, internal network or any other means are strictly reserved in all countries. Consult the legal notice and the terms and conditions of use regarding this site.

**URL:** http://www.cvce.eu/obj/the\_luxembourg\_presidencies\_of\_the\_council-en-67e021f3-363f-4936-8f48-3b75ba13ca71.html

**Last updated:** 03/08/2016





## **The Luxembourg Presidencies of the Council**

| Europe of the Six 1958-1972     | Minister for Foreign Affairs |
|---------------------------------|------------------------------|
| 1 January - 30 June 1960        | Eugène Schaus                |
| 1 January - 30 June 1963        | Eugène Schaus                |
| 1 January - 30 June 1966        | Pierre Werner                |
| 1 January - 30 June 1969        | Pierre Grégoire              |
| 1 January - 30 June 1972        | Gaston Thorn                 |
| Europe of the Nine 1973-1980    |                              |
| 1 January - 30 June 1976        | Gaston Thorn                 |
| 1 July - 31 December 1980       | Colette Flesch               |
|                                 |                              |
| Europe of the Ten 1981-1984     |                              |
| -                               |                              |
| Europe of the Twelve 1985-1994  |                              |
| 1 July - 31 December 1985       | Jacques F. Poos              |
| 1 January - 30 June 1991        | Jacques F. Poos              |
| Europe of the Fifteen 1995-2004 |                              |
| 1 July - 31 December 1997       | Jacques F. Poos              |
| Europe of the Twenty-five       |                              |
| 1 January - 30 June 2005        | Jean Asselborn               |

