### (CVCe

### Decision of the Council of the EU on the admission of Norway, Austria, Finland and Sweden to the European Union (16 May 1994)

**Caption:** On 16 May 1994, the Council of the European Union agrees to the accession of Norway, Austria, Finland and Sweden to the European Union.

Source: Official Journal of the European Communities (OJEC). 29.08.1994, n° C 241. [s.l.].

**Copyright:** All rights of reproduction, public communication, adaptation, distribution or dissemination via Internet,

internal network or any other means are strictly reserved in all countries.

The documents available on this Web site are the exclusive property of their authors or right holders.

Requests for authorisation are to be addressed to the authors or right holders concerned.

Further information may be obtained by referring to the legal notice and the terms and conditions of use regarding this site.

#### URL:

http://www.cvce.eu/obj/decision\_of\_the\_council\_of\_the\_eu\_on\_the\_admission\_of\_norway\_austria\_finland\_and\_swede n\_to\_the\_european\_union\_16\_may\_1994-en-51be0b89-ec7a-4eef-b9ea-4ee3eb3f5b47.html **Publication date:** 22/10/2012

## (CVCe

# Decision of the Council of the European Union of 16 May 1994 on the admission of the Kingdom of Norway, the Republic of Austria, the Republic of Finland and the Kingdom of Sweden to the European Union

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to the Treaty on European Union, and in particular Article O thereof,

Having regard to the opinion of the Commission,

Having regard to the assent of the European Parliament,

Whereas the Kingdom of Norway, the Republic of Austria, the Republic of Finland and the Kingdom of Sweden have applied to become members of the European Union,

HAS DECIDED:

To accept these applications for admission; the conditions of admission and the adjustments to the Treaties on which the European Union is founded, entailed by such admission, are to be the subject of an agreement between the Member States, the Kingdom of Norway, the Republic of Austria, the Republic of Finland and the Kingdom of Sweden.

Done at Brussels, 16 May 1994.