

Lists of members of the decision-making bodies of the European Central Bank (January 2008)

Caption: Lists of members of the decision-making bodies of the European Central Bank.

Source: European Central Bank. Organisation - Decision-making. [ON-LINE]. [Frankfurt am Main]: European Central Bank, [08.01.2008]. Disponible sur http://www.ecb.int/ecb/orga/decisions/govc/html/index.en.html.

Copyright: (c) European Central Bank

URL:

 $http://www.cvce.eu/obj/lists_of_members_of_the_decision_making_bodies_of_the_european_central_bank_january_20\\ 08-en-6aae64a8-b61e-4bed-a5a5-5e2d4a43f387.html$

1/4

Publication date: 20/10/2012



Lists of members of the decision-making bodies of the European Central Bank (as in January 2008) The Governing Council

Name	Office
Members of the Executive Board of the	
ECB	
Jean-Claude Trichet	President of the ECB
Lucas D. Papademos	Vice-President of the ECB
José Manuel González-Páramo	Member of the Executive Board of the ECB
Gertrude Tumpel-Gugerell	Member of the Executive Board of the ECB
Jürgen Stark	Member of the Executive Board of the ECB
Lorenzo Bini Smaghi	Member of the Executive Board of the ECB
Governors of the national central banks	
Guy Quaden	Governor, Nationale Bank van België / Banque Nationale de Belgique
Axel A. Weber	President, Deutsche Bundesbank
Nicholas C. Garganas	Governor, Bank of Greece
Miguel Fernández Ordóñez	Governor, Banco de España
Christian Noyer	Governor, Banque de France
John Hurley	Governor, Central Bank and Financial Services Authority of Ireland
Mario Draghi	Governor, Banca d'Italia
Yves Mersch	Governor, Banque centrale du Luxembourg
Nout Wellink	President, De Nederlandsche Bank
Klaus Liebscher	Goernor, Oesterreichische Nationalbank
Vítor Manuel Ribeiro Constâncio	Governor, Banco de Portugal
Erkki Liikanen	Governor, Suomen Pankki - Finlands Bank
Marko Kranjec	Governor, Banka Slovenije
Athanasios Orphanides	Governor, Central Bank of Cyprus
Michael C. Bonello	Governor, Central Bank of Malta/Bank Centrali ta' Malta
	rises the members of the Executive Board of the ECB and the

The Governing Council of the ECB comprises the members of the Executive Board of the ECB and the Governors of the national central banks which have adopted the single currency. (Articles 112 (1) and 122 of the Treaty establishing the European Community; Articles 10 and 43 of the Statute of the European System of Central Banks and of the European Central Bank)

2/4



The Executive Board

Name	Office	
Jean-Claude Trichet	President of the ECB	
Lucas D. Papademos	Vice-President of the ECB	
José Manuel González-Páramo		
Gertrude Tumpel-Gugerell		
Jürgen Stark		
Lorenzo Bini Smaghi		
In accordance with Article 112 (2) (a) of the Treaty establishing the European Community, the Executive		

In accordance with Article 112 (2) (a) of the Treaty establishing the European Community, the Executive Board shall comprise the President, the Vice-President and four other members.

3/4



The General Council

Name	Office	
Jean-Claude Trichet	President of the ECB	
Lucas D. Papademos	Vice-President of the ECB	
Governors of the national central banks		
Guy Quaden	Governor, Nationale Bank van België / Banque Nationale de	
	Belgique	
Ivan Iskrov	Governor, Bulgarian National Bank	
Zdenek Tuma	Governor, Ceská národní banka	
Nils Bernstein	Governor, Danmarks Nationalbank	
Axel A. Weber	President, Deutsche Bundesbank	
Andres Lipstok	Governor, Eesti Pank	
Nicholas C. Garganas	Governor, Bank of Greece	
Miguel Fernández Ordóñez	Governor, Banco de España	
Christian Noyer	Governor, Banque de France	
John Hurley	Governor, Central Bank and Financial Services Authority of	
	Ireland	
Mario Draghi	Governor, Banca d'Italia	
Athanasios Orphanides	Governor, Central Bank of Cyprus	
Ilmars Rim evics	Governor, Latvijas Banka	
Reinoldijus arkinas	Chairman of the Board, Lietuvos bankas	
Yves Mersch	Governor, Banque centrale du Luxembourg	
András Simor	Governor, Magyar Nemzeti Bank	
Michael C. Bonello	Governor, Central Bank of Malta/Bank Centrali ta' Malta	
Nout Wellink	President, De Nederlandsche Bank	
Klaus Liebscher	Governor, Oesterreichische Nationalbank	
Slawomir Skrzypek	President, Narodowy Bank Polski	
Vítor Manuel Ribeiro Constâncio	Governor, Banco de Portugal	
Mugur Isarescu	Governor, Banca Nationala a României	
Marko Kranjec	Governor, Banka Slovenije	
Ivan ramko	Governor, Národná banka Slovenska	
Erkki Liikanen	Governor, Suomen Pankki - Finlands Bank	
Stefan Ingves	Governor, Sveriges Riksbank	
Mervin King	Governor, Bank of England	
In accordance with Article 45.2 of the Statute of the European System of Central Banks (ESCB) and of the		
European Central Bank (ECB), the General Council shall comprise the President and Vice-President of the		
ECB and the governors of the national cer	atral banks. The other members of the Executive Board may	

participate, without having the right to vote, in meetings of the General Council.

4/4