

## Council Recommendation 98/318/EC (3 May 1998)

**Caption:** Council Recommendation of 3 May 1998 concerning the appointment of the President, the Vice-President and other Members of the Executive Board of the European Central Bank.

**Source:** Official Journal of the European Communities (OJEC). 11.05.1998, n° L 139. [s.l.]. "Council Recommendation of 3 May 1998 on the appointments of the President, the Vice-President and the other members of the Executive Board of the European Central Bank (98/318/EC)", p. 36.

**Copyright:** All rights of reproduction, public communication, adaptation, distribution or dissemination via Internet, internal network or any other means are strictly reserved in all countries.

The documents available on this Web site are the exclusive property of their authors or right holders.

Requests for authorisation are to be addressed to the authors or right holders concerned.

Further information may be obtained by referring to the legal notice and the terms and conditions of use regarding this site.

1/2

**URL:** http://www.cvce.eu/obj/council\_recommendation\_98\_318\_ec\_3\_may\_1998-en-f7a80e22-853c-4eca-b3e6-f8209a5a7646.html

Publication date: 20/12/2013

20/12/2013



Council Recommendation of 3 May 1998 on the appointments of the President, the Vice-President and the other members of the Executive Board of the European Central Bank

(98/318/EC)

## THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Community, and in particular Article 109a(2) and Article 109l(1), second indent, and to Article 50 of the Protocol on the Statute of the European System of Central Banks and of the European Central Bank,

## **HEREBY RECOMMENDS:**

- 1. Wim DUISENBERG as President of the European Central Bank for a term of office of eight years.
- 2. Christian NOYER as Vice-President of the European Central Bank for a term of office of four years.
- 3. Otmar ISSING as member of the Executive Board of the European Central Bank for a term of office of eight years.
- 4. Tommaso PADOA SCHIOPPA as member of the Executive Board of the European Central Bank for a term of office of seven years.
- 5. Eugenio DOMINGO SOLANS as member of the Executive Board of the European Central Bank for a term of office of six years.
- 6. Sirkka HÄMÄLÄINEN as member of the Executive Board of the European Central Bank for a term of office of five years.

This recommendation shall be submitted for decision to the governments of the Member States at the level of Heads of State or Government adopting the single currency after consulting the European Parliament and the Council of the European Monetary Institute.

2/2

This recommendation shall be published in the *Official Journal of the European Communities*.

Done at Brussels, 3 May 1998.

For the Council
The President
G. BROWN

20/12/2013