## Political groups in the European Parliament (1979)

Caption: Distribution of seats at the European Parliament by political group (1979). Source: CVCE. Copyright: (c) CVCE.EU by UNI.LU All rights of reproduction, of public communication, of adaptation, of distribution or of dissemination via Internet, internal network or any other means are strictly reserved in all countries. Consult the legal notice and the terms and conditions of use regarding this site. URL: http://www.cvce.eu/obj/political\_groups\_in\_the\_european\_parliament\_1979-en-66aa763e-504b-420a-80e5-230961d497d6.html Last updated: 08/07/2016



## **Political composition of the European Parliament (1979)**

	Belgium	Denmark	Germany	France	Ireland	Italy I	Luxembourg	Netherlands	United Kingdom	Total	
EPP	10		42	9	4	30	3	3 10		108	
S	7	,	1 35	21	4	13	1	9	18	3 112	
ED		3	3						6	l 64	
СОМ		1	L	19		24				44	
L	4	. 3	3 4	. 17	1	5	2	2 4		40	
EPD		1	L	15	5					1 22	
CDI	1	. 2	1		1	5				11	
NI	2	-				4		2		1 9	
Total	24	16	6 81	81	15	81	6	5 25	8	410	
Situation on the 24th September 1979.											
Abbreviations:											
S (Socialist Group)											
EPP (Group of the European People's Party)											
ED (European Democrat Group)											
COM (Communist and Allies Group)											
L (Liberal and Democratic Group)											
EPD (Group of European Progressive Democrats)											
CDI (Group for the Technical Coordination and the Defence of Independent Groups and Members)											
NI (Non-atta	NI (Non-attached Members).										

