Treaty establishing the EAEC — Protocol on the application of the Treaty to the non-European parts of the Kingdom of the Netherlands (Rome, 25 March 1957)

Caption: Signed on 25 March 1957 in Rome by the representatives of Belgium, the Federal Republic of Germany (FRG), France, Italy, Luxembourg and the Netherlands, the Treaty establishing the European Atomic Energy Community (EAEC or Euratom) includes a Protocol on the application of the Euratom Treaty to the non-European parts of the Kingdom of the Netherlands.

Source: Treaty establishing the European Atomic Energy Community (EURATOM) and connected documents. Luxembourg: Publishing Services of the European Communities, [s.d.]. 222 p. "Protocol on the application of the Treaty establishing the EAEC to the non-European parts of the Kingdom of the Netherlands".

Copyright: All rights of reproduction, public communication, adaptation, distribution or dissemination via Internet, internal network or any other means are strictly reserved in all countries. The documents available on this Web site are the exclusive property of their authors or right holders. Requests for authorisation are to be addressed to the authors or right holders concerned. Further information may be obtained by referring to the legal notice and the terms and conditions of use regarding this site.

URL:

http://www.cvce.eu/obj/treaty_establishing_the_eaec_protocol_on_the_application_of_the_treaty_to_the_non_european_parts_of_the_kingdom_of_the_netherlands_rome_25_march_1957-en-a205d169-62d9-4f70-979a-569adb3f2332.html



Last updated: 05/11/2015



Treaty establishing the EAEC — Protocol on the application of the Treaty to the non-European parts of the Kingdom of the Netherlands

THE HIGH CONTRACTING PARTIES,

ANXIOUS, at the time of signature of the Treaty establishing the European Atomic Energy Community, to define the scope of the provisions of Article 198 of this Treaty in respect of the Kingdom of the Netherlands,

HAVE AGREED upon the following provisions, which shall be annexed to this Treaty:

The Government of the Kingdom of the Netherlands, by reason of the constitutional structure of the Kingdom resulting from the Statute of 29 December 1954, shall, by way of derogation from Article 198, be entitled to ratify this Treaty either on behalf of the Kingdom of the Netherlands in its entirety or on behalf of the Kingdom in Europe and Netherlands New Guinea. In the event of ratification being limited to the Kingdom in Europe and Netherlands New Guinea, the Government of the Kingdom of the Netherlands may at any time, by notification to the Government of the Italian Republic as depositary of the instruments of ratification, declare this Treaty also applicable either to Surinam, or to the Netherlands Antilles, or to both Surinam and the Netherlands Antilles.

Done at Rome this twenty-fifth day of March in the year one thousand nine hundred and fifty-seven.

P. H. Spaak. J. Ch. Snoy et d'Oppuers.

Adenauer. Hallstein.

Pineau. M. Faure.

Antonio Segni. Gaetano Martino.

Bech. Lambert Schaus.

J. Luns. J. Linthorst Homan.

