# (CVCe

### Council Decision 77/656/EEC, Euratom, ECSC (18 October 1977)

Caption: Council Decision of 18 October 1977 appointing the Members of the Court of Auditors (77/656/EEC, Euratom, ECSC). This Decision refers to the initial appointment of the Members of the Court. They are appointed for a six-year term. However, for this initial appointment, in order to avoid having to renew the entire college, four Members, chosen by the drawing of lots, received a mandate limited to four years. Source: Official Journal of the European Communities (OJEC). 20.10.1977, n° L 268. [s.l.]. Copyright: All rights of reproduction, public communication, adaptation, distribution or dissemination via Internet, internal network or any other means are strictly reserved in all countries. The documents available on this Web site are the exclusive property of their authors or right holders. Requests for authorisation are to be addressed to the authors or right holders concerned. Further information may be obtained by referring to the legal notice and the terms and conditions of use regarding this site.

URL: http://www.cvce.eu/obj/council\_decision\_77\_656\_eec\_euratom\_ecsc\_18\_october\_1977-en-923e91c3-2b88-46ea-9708-f264f9920dc7.html

Publication date: 22/10/2012



## **Council Decision of 18 October 1977 appointing the members of the Court of Auditors** (77/656/EEC, Euratom, ECSC)

#### THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN COMMUNITIES,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Coal and Steel Community, and in particular Article 78e thereof,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Economic Community, and in particular Article 206 thereof,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Atomic Energy Community, and in particular Article 180 thereof,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing a single Council and a single Commission of the European Communities, and in particular Article 22 thereof,

Having regard to the Treaty amending certain financial provisions of the Treaties establishing the European Communities and of the Treaty establishing a single Council and a single Commission of the European Communities, signed at Brussels on 22 July 1975, and in particular Article 28 (1) thereof,

Having regard to the opinion of the European Parliament (1),

Whereas the Treaty signed at Brussels on 22 July 1975 provides *inter alia* for the establishment of a Court of Auditors consisting of nine members appointed for a term of six years by the Council, but that when the first appointments are made, four members of the Court of Auditors, chosen by lot, shall be appointed for a term of office of four years only;

Whereas the Treaty signed at Brussels on 22 July 1975 entered into force on 1 June 1977 and it is therefore necessary to appoint the first members of the Court of Auditors,

HAS DECIDED AS FOLLOWS:

#### Article 1

The following persons are hereby appointed members of the Court of Auditors:

Aldo Angioi, Paul Gaudy, Arne K. Johansen, Albert Leicht, Pierre Lelong, Marcel Mart, A. J. Middelhoek, Michael N. Murphy, Norman (Charles) Price, KCB.

#### Article 2

Immediately after the giving by the members of the Court of Auditors of the solemn undertaking to respect the obligations arising from their duties, the President of the Council shall proceed to choose by lot the four members whose terms of office are to be for four years only.

#### Article 3

This decision shall take effect on 18 October 1977.

Done at Luxembourg, 18 October 1977.

For the council The President H. SIMONET

(<sup>1</sup>) Opinion delivered on 12 October 1977 (not yet published in the Official Journal).