

Agreement on the occupation zones in Austria and the administration of the City of Vienna (9 July 1945)

Caption: On 9 July 1945, representatives of the US, British, French and Soviet Governments agree on the division of the various occupation zones in Austria and their control.

Source: Department of State (Ed.). A Decade of American Foreign Policy, Basic Documents 1941-1949. Washington: Department of State Printing Office, 1985. 969 p. ISBN 0403000084. p. 253-254.

Copyright: United States of America Department of State

URL:

http://www.cvce.eu/obj/agreement_on_the_occupation_zones_in_austria_and_the_administration_of_the_city_of_vienn a 9 july 1945-en-8f66e4ad-f336-499b-9cec-9cd99eb3af1f.html

1/3

Last updated: 03/07/2015

03/07/2015



Agreement Between the Governments of the United States, the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, the United Kingdom and the Provisional Government of the French Republic on Zones of Occupation in Austria and the Administration of the City of Vienna

- 1. The Governments of the United States of America, the Union of Soviet Republics and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and the Provisional Government of the French Republic have agreed that the territory of Austria within her frontiers as they were on 31st December, 1937, will be occupied by armed forces of the United States of America, the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, the United Kingdom and the French Republic.
- 2. For the purposes of occupation, Austria will be divided as follows into four zones, one of which will be allotted to each of the four Powers, and a special Vienna area which will be jointly occupied by armed forces of the four Powers:

North-Eastern (Soviet) Zone

The province of Lower Austria with the exception of the City of Vienna, that part of the province of Upper Austria situated on the left bank of the Danube, and the province of Burgenland which existed prior to the Decree of 1st October, 1938, concerning boundary changes in Austria, will be occupied by armed forces of the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics.

North-Western (United States) Zone

The province of Salzburg and that part of the province of Upper Austria situated on the right bank of the Danube will be occupied by armed forces of the United States.

Western (French) Zone

The provinces of Tirol and Vorarlberg will be occupied by armed forces of the French Republic.

Southern (United Kingdom) Zone

The province of Carinthia, including Ost Tirol, and the province of Styria, except the area of the Burgenland as it existed before the Decree of 1st October, 1938, will be occupied by armed forces of the United Kingdom.

City of Vienna

The territory of the City of Vienna will be divided into the following parts: -

The districts of Leopoldstadt, Brigittenau, Floridsdorf, Wieden and Favoriten will be occupied by armed forces of the Soviet Union;

The districts of Neubau, Josefstadt, Hernals, Alsergrund, Währing and Döbling will be occupied by armed forces of the United States of America;

The districts of Mariahilf, Penzing, Funfhaus (including the district of Rudolfsheim) and Ottakring will be occupied by armed forces of the French Republic;

The districts of Hietzing, Margareten, Meidling, Landstrasse and Simmering will be occupied by armed forces of the United Kingdom.

The district of Innere Stadt will be occupied by armed forces of the four Powers.

2 / 3 03/07/2015



- 3. Boundaries between the zones of occupation, with the exception of the boundaries of the City of Vienna and of the province of Burgenland, will be those obtaining after the coming into effect of the Decree of 1st October, 1938, concerning boundary changes in Austria. The boundaries of the City of Vienna and of the province of Burgenland will be those which existed on 31st December, 1937.
- 4. An inter-Allied Governing Authority (Komendatura), consisting of four Commandants appointed by their respective Commanders-in-Chief, will be established to direct jointly the administration of the City of Vienna.
- 5. The Tulln airdrome, together with all installations and facilities pertaining thereto, will be under the administrative and operational control of the armed forces of the United States of America. The Schwechat airdrome, together with all installations and facilities pertaining thereto, will be under the administrative and operational control of the armed forces of the United Kingdom for the joint use of the British and French armed forces. The armed forces and officials of the occupying Powers will enjoy free and unimpeded access to the airdromes assigned to their respective occupancy and use.
- 6. The present Agreement has been drawn up in quadruplicate in the English, Russian and French languages. All three texts are authentic.
- 7. The present Agreement will come into force as soon as it has been approved by the four Governments.

The above text of the Agreement between the Governments of the United States of America, the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics and the United Kingdom and the Provisional Government of the French Republic on the Zones of Occupation in Austria and the Administration of the City of Vienna has been prepared and unanimously adopted by the European Advisory Commission at a meeting held on 9th July, 1945.

Representative of the Government of the United States of America on the European Advisory Commission: John G. Winant.

Representative of the Government of the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics on the European Advisory Commission: F T Gousev.

Representative of the Government of the United Kingdom on the European Advisory Commission: Ronald I. Campbell

3/3

Representative of the Provisional Government of the French Republic on the European Advisory Commission: R Massigli

Lancaster House, London, S. W. 1. 9th July 1945.

03/07/2015