## Changes in the distribution of seats in the European Parliament

Caption: Table showing the change in the number of European Parliament seats allocated to each Member State since 1952.

Source: CVCE.

Copyright: (c) CVCE.EU by UNI.LU

All rights of reproduction, of public communication, of adaptation, of distribution or of dissemination via Internet, internal network or any other means are strictly reserved in all countries.

Consult the legal notice and the terms and conditions of use regarding this site.

 $\textbf{URL:} \ \text{http://www.cvce.eu/obj/changes\_in\_the\_distribution\_of\_seats\_in\_the\_european\_parliament-en-e6d28948-3fa8-4fe7-likely.} \\$ 

 $a 5 5 2 \hbox{--} 1 b 0 6 2 b c 6 f b 4 7. h t m l$ 

**Last updated:** 08/07/2016





## Changes in the distribution of seats in the European Parliament

	Assembly of	_	European Parliament								
Legal basis	Article 21 of	Article 138	Article 138	Article 2 of	Article 2 of	Article 2 of	Article 2 of	Article 2 of	Article 190	Article 24 of	Article 190
	the ECSC	of the EEC	of the EEC	the Act	the 1976	the 1976	the 1976	the 1976	of the EC	the Act of	of the EC
	Treaty	Treaty*	Treaty*,	concerning	Act,	Act,	Act,	Act,	Treaty**,	Accession	Treaty**,
	(1951)	(1957)	modified by	the election	modified by	of Bulgaria	modified by				
			the Act of	of the	the Act of	the Act of	Council	the Act of	the Act of	and	the Act of
			Accession	representativ	Accession of	Accession of	Decision	Accession	Accession of	Romania	Accession of
			of Denmark,	es to	Greece	Spain and	93/81/Eurat	of Austria,	the Czech	(2005)	Bulgaria and
			Ireland and	Parliament	(1979)	Portugal	om, ECSC,	Finland and	Republic,		Romania
			the United	by		(1985)	EEC	Sweden	Estonia,		(2005)
			Kingdom	direct			(1993)	(1994)	Cyprus,		
			(1972)	universal					Latvia,		
				suffrage					Lithuania,		
				(1976)					Hungary,		
									Malta,		
									Poland,		
									Slovenia and		
									Slovakia		
									(2003)		
Date of	1952	1958	1973	1979	1981	1986	1994	1995	2004	2007	2009
application											
Parliamentary				1st	1st	2nd	4th	4th	6th	6th	7th
terms				parliamentar	parliamentar	parliamentar	parliamentar	parliamentar	parliamentary	parliamentar	parliamentar
				y term	y term	y term	y term	y term	term (2004-	y term	y term
				(1979-1984)	(1979-1984)	(1984-1989)	(1994-1999)	(1994-1999)	2009)	(2004-2009)	(2009-
					and	and		and			2014)***
					2nd	3rd		5th			



					parliamentar	parliamentar		parliamentar			
					r	y term		y term			
					(1984-1989)	(1989-1994)		(1999-2004)			
Belgium	10	14	14	24	24	24	25	25	24	24	22
Bulgaria										18	17
Czech Republic									24	24	22
Denmark			10	16	16	16	16	16	14	14	13
Germany	18	36	36	81	81	81	99	99	99	99	99
Estonia									6	6	6
Greece					24	24	25	25	24	24	22
Spain						60	64	64	54	54	50
France	18	36	36	81		81	87	87	78	78	72
Ireland			10	15	15	15	15	15	13	13	12
Italy	18	36	36	81	81	81	87	87	78	78	72
Cyprus									6	6	6
Latvia									9	9	8
Lithuania									13	13	12
Luxembourg	4	6	6	6	6	6	6	6	6	6	6
Hungary									24	24	22
Malta									5	5	22 5 25 17
Netherlands	10	14	14	25	25	25	31	31	27	27	25
Austria								21	18	18	17
Poland									54	54	50
Portugal						24	25	25	24	24	22
Romania										35	33
Slovenia									7	7	7
Slovakia									14	14	13
Finland								16	14	14	13
Sweden								22	19	19	18
United			36	81	81	81	87	87	78	78	72
Kingdom											



Total	78	142	198	410	434	518	567	626	. / <b>. / . /</b>	785	736
Total	/ 0	1 174	150	710	TUT	510	JU/	020	/ 52	/ 00	/30



<sup>\*</sup> Article 108 of the EAEC Treaty and Article 21 of the ECSC Treaty.

\*\* Article 108 of the EAEC Treaty.

\*\*\* The entry into force of the Lisbon Treaty would modify the distribution of seats during the parliamentary term.